DCU 2013 Speakers Include Ben Affleck, David O. Russell & More

Every year, for five weeks in February, our Directors Close-Up series gives you an intimate look at the craft of directing straight from the visionaries behind the camera. This year, you’ll be able to hear first-hand from Academy Award-nominated filmmakers Ben Affleck (Argo), David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook) and Benh Zeitlin (Beasts of the Southern Wild), along with director Ruben Fleischer (Gangster Squad), Spirit Award-nominated writer/directors Ira Sachs (Keep the Lights On) and Julia Loktev (The Loneliest Planet), and writer/director Jill Soloway (Afternoon Delight).

“We are thrilled to bring together the directors of some of this year’s most fascinating work,” said our director of education, Maria Bozzi. “From the fresh approach of first time directors Benh Zeitlin and Jill Solloway, to the distinctive style of seasoned artists like David O. Russell and Ben Affleck — who will address how their work has evolved — the Directors Close-Up offers a variety of creative perspectives. There’s always something unique coming out of each one of these sessions.”

Each of the five nights will be devoted to a specific aspect of directing — sound, writing, cinematography, casting and eliciting compelling performances from actors. This year’s panels will cover the following:

  • February 6 – Sound Advice: Moving Beyond the Picture
  • February 13 – Ben Affleck: The Road to Argo
  • February 20 – The Independent Spirit: A Directors Roundtable
  • February 27 – The Creative Team: Executing the Vision
  • March 6 – The Actors: Getting Great Performances

DCU panels will take place at The Landmark – West Los Angeles (10850 West Pico at Westwood Blvd.) each Wednesday night from February 6 – March 6 at 7:30 pm.

To see the complete list of panels and to get your series passes, visit filmindependent.org/dcu2013 — registration is limited and sure to sell out, so make sure you register today!


January 15th, 2013 • No Comments

Leave a Reply

Allowed tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>