Filmmaker Grant Winners for 2013 Spirit Awards

This weekend, trophies were polished, celebrities wrangled and carpets rolled out as awards season officially kicked into gear. There were, of course, Sunday’s Golden Globes, which saw wins for Film Independent Spirit Award nominees Jennifer Lawrence and Michael Haneke’s Amour. But the award giving actually started the day before with our annual Spirit Awards Nominee Brunch at BOA Steakhouse on Saturday. In a ceremony hosted by Salma Hayek and Jeremy Renner, four lucky filmmakers received something extra to go with their shiny new trophies: filmmaker grants ranging from $25,000 — $50,000.

“We at Film Independent understand how valuable these grants are in the world of independent film,” said co-president Josh Welsh. “The additional financial support it affords the winners will ensure their artistic vision moves forward.”

“We love to highlight talented, hardworking filmmakers whose herculean efforts can be seen in their films,” added co-president Sean Mc Manus. “We commend all the finalists and recipients for keeping the independent spirit alive through their tireless work.”

2013 Spirit Award Filmmaker Grant Winners:

Someone to Watch Award

The Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. In its nineteenth year, the award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.

Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award

The Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not received significant recognition. In its eighteenth year, the award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Stella Artois.

Piaget Producers Award

The Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision required to produce quality independent films. In its sixteenth year, the award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.

Jameson® FIND Your Audience Award

The Jameson® FIND Your Audience Award helps one low-budget independent film find a broader audience. In its third year, the award included a $50,000 marketing and distribution grant funded by Jameson® Irish Whiskey.

  • WINNER: Laura Colella for Breakfast With Curtis
  • Jeremy Kipp Walker and John Mitchell for History Of Future Folk
  • Sara Lamm, Mary Wigmore, Kate Roughan and Zachary Mortensen for Birth Story: Ina May Gaskin And The Farm Midwives

Winners for the remaining categories will be revealed at the 2013 Spirit Awards hosted by Andy Samberg on Saturday, February 23, 2013. The show will premiere later that night at 10:00 pm on IFC. In the meantime, check out the winners and guests in the Nominee Brunch photo gallery at


January 14th, 2013 • 2 Comments

2 Responses to “Filmmaker Grant Winners for 2013 Spirit Awards”

  1. January 14, 2013 at 5:06 pm

    Awesome – any screenplays pass The Bechdel Test?

    • ZiaFilm7
      January 15, 2013 at 7:24 pm

      Breakfast with Curtis!

Leave a Reply

Allowed tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>