Spirit Awards

Directors Close-Up 2022

Spirit Awards

Directors Close-Up 2022

Year after year, the Directors Close-Up series offers filmmakers and film lovers the unique opportunity to hear from and interact with the most prominent talent in independent film and television.

Taking place every Wednesday from January 26 through March 16, each week of the DCU will feature a special celebration of the directors and creators nominated for the 2022 Film Independent Spirit Awards.

This year’s series will feature incredible artists, including:

Pedro Almodóvar (Parallel Mothers)
Nikole Beckwith (Together, Together)
Clint Bentley (Jockey)
Henry Russell Bergstein (Mass)
Vanessa Block (Pig)
Janicza Bravo (Zola)
Yoni Brook (Philly D.A.)
Sheldon D. Brown (Cicada)
Nick Cammilleri (The Lady and the Dale)
Jonas Carpignano (A Chiara)
Rafael Casal (Blindspotting)
David Choe (The Choe Show)
Lyle Mitchell Corbine, Jr. (Wild Indian)
Daveed Diggs (Blindspotting)
Allison Estrin (Mass)
Matt Fifer (Cicada)
Zackary Drucker (The Lady and the Dale)
Geeta Gandbhir (Black and Missing)
Robert Greene (Procession)
Maggie Gyllenhaal (The Lost Daughter)
Lauren Hadaway (The Novice)
Ryusuke Hamaguchi (Drive My Car)
Sterlin Harjo (Reservation Dogs)
Jeremy O. Harris (Zola)
Peter Hoar (It’s a Sin)
Tatiana Huezo (Prayers for the Stolen)
Barry Jenkins (The Underground Railroad)
Jessica Kingdon (Ascension)
Fran Kranz (Mass)
Talia Lugacy (This is Not a War Story)
Nana Mensah (Queen of Glory)
Shatara Michelle Ford (Test Pattern)
Mike Mills (C’mon C’mon)
Soledad O’Brien (Black and Missing)
Ted Passon (Philly D.A.)
Jonas Poher Rasmussen (Flee)
Paco Raterta (The Choe Show)
Nicole Riegel (Holler)
Alexandre Rockwell (Sweet Thing)
Ry Russo-Young (Nuclear Family)
Michael Sarnoski (Pig)
Céline Sciamma (Petite Maman)
Emma Seligman (Shiva Baby)
Roshan Sethi (7 Days)
Dash Shaw (Cryptozoo)
Todd Stephens (Swan Song)
Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson (Summer of Soul)
Ninja Thyberg (Pleasure)
P S Vinothraj (Pebbles)
Nanfu Wang (In the Same Breath)

Seven virtual sessions, from January 26–February 23, will focus on Best Director and Best Feature, Best First Feature, Best Documentary, Best International Film, Best New Scripted Series, Best New Non-Scripted Series and the John Cassavetes Award.

Three in-person* sessions, taking place at The Landmark in West Los Angeles from March 2–16, will include Best Screenplay and Best First Screenplay, Casting and Directing Actors, and a Special Guest Director Conversation.

For more details, take a look at the full schedule for Directors Close-Up 2022.

* Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, all aspects of the Director’s Close-Up series (schedule, format, participants, etc.) are subject to change. Any in-person events that take place will have additional requirements (proof of vaccination, mandatory masking, etc.) for entry/attendance. If an in-person session is cancelled due to COVID-19, that session will be presented virtually.

Series Pass

Includes seven live virtual panels, and three live in-person conversations (also available on demand) at The Landmark in West Los Angeles

$110 for Film Independent Members
$150 for non-Members
FREE for Arts Circle Members

Directors Close-Up series passes are on sale. Click the ‘DCU Series Pass’ button at the top of the page, or get your pass here.

Please note: Individuals who purchase passes after 3:00 pm PT on January 26 are not guaranteed live access to the first virtual event of the series.

Single Tickets

For in-person events at The Landmark only

$25 for Members
$35 for non-Members

Single tickets to our DCU at The Landmark events are available now. Remember, if you’re a pass holder, that’s all you need to attend! (Just don’t forget to bring proof of your COVID-19 vaccination and a mask, of course.)
Not a Member? Join today.

If you are joining or renewing, please allow up to one business day for your Membership to be processed.