Grants & Awards

Film Independent awards over $845,000 in cash and production services to filmmakers each year.

Film Independent grants and awards help filmmakers to advance their current projects and recognize professional accomplishments in independent film.

Film Independent Spirit Awards Filmmaker Grants

Each year, Film Independent recognizes exceptional emerging film talent with three Spirit Awards Filmmaker Grants that carry unrestricted cash prizes of $25,000. Potential grant recipients are nominated by committee.

For more information, please email [email protected].

LA Film Festival Awards

The juried awards of the LA Film Festival are given in the following competition categories:

  • US Fiction
  • Documentary
  • World Fiction
  • Nightfall
  • Short Fiction
  • Short Documentary

Balloted audience awards are given in the following categories:

  • Fiction Film
  • Documentary
  • Short Film
  • Web Series

These awards were established by the LA Film Festival to encourage independent filmmakers to pursue their artistic ambitions.

Alfred P. Sloan Grants

Since 2007, Film Independent and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation have joined forces to encourage filmmakers to create more realistic and accurate stories about science and technology and to challenge existing stereotypes about scientists and engineers in the popular imagination. Learn more about our Episodic, Producing and Fast Track grants, as well as our Distribution Grant.


Through donor-named fellowships, Film Independent supports our Fellows with cash grants.

Amazon Studios Film Fellowship

The Amazon Studios Film Fellowship provides a $10,000 grant to a visionary filmmaker in Project Involve.

Barbara Boyle Fellowship

The Barbara Boyle Fellowship is awarded to a current outstanding participant in Project Involve.

The Fox | HBCU Media Alliance Fox Film Fellowship

As part of the multi-year partnership with the FOX | HBCU Media Alliance (FHMA), members of the FHMA can be considered for the FOX | HBCU Media Alliance Fox Film Fellowship which underwrites the cost of participation in Project Involve.

LAIKA Animation Fellowship

The LAIKA Animation Fellowship provides a $10,000 grant to an animator in Project Involve.

LMU SFTV Project Involve & Screenwriting Fellowships

Alumni of Loyola Marymount University who apply to either Project Involve or the Screenwriting Lab can ask to be considered for the LMU Project Involve Fellowship or the LMU Screenwriting Fellowship. Each fellowship includes a $10,000 cash grant, as well as inclusion in Film Independent’s Project Involve or annual Screenwriting Lab. To be eligible for these fellowships, applicants must be alumni of Loyola Marymount University.

Participant Media Fellowship

The Participant Media Fellowship endows an exceptional filmmaker in Project Involve with a $10,000 grant.

Roger and Chaz Ebert Fellowship

The Roger and Chaz Ebert Foundation Fellowship awards a cash grant of $10,000 to a filmmaker currently participating in a Film Independent Artist Development program with the mission of diversity in mind.

Sony Diversity Fellowship

The Sony Pictures Diversity Fellowship provides a $10,000 grant to an outstanding filmmaker in Project Involve.

Production Grants

In collaboration with various industry partners, Film Independent supports filmmakers with production services, equipment, and permits. Current production grants are available to our alumni by application.

EFILM | Company 3 Grant

The EFILM | Company 3 Grant is a program for Film Independent Fellows, alumni of the LA Film Festival, and Spirit Awards Nominees and Winners. Film Independent will select qualified filmmakers who will receive color correction and digital intermediate services for their production. This package will be reserved for filmmakers who are in production or recently wrapped a feature length narrative film. View application dates and info.

Sponsor a Grant

Donors have the opportunity to directly support individual Film Independent Fellows by establishing a Donor Named Fellowship–providing filmmaker grants and education to exceptional artists.

For more information, please email: [email protected].