Ceremony to Premiere Exclusively on IFC at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT


Natalie Portman accepts the best female lead award for “Black Swan” at 2011 Film Independent Spirit Awards

LOS ANGELES (October 27, 2011) – Film Independent, the non-profit arts organization that produces the Spirit Awards and the Los Angeles Film Festival, announced today that the 27th Film Independent Spirit Awards will return to its traditional Saturday afternoon on February 25 in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica. The premiere broadcast of the Film Independent Spirit Awards will air later that evening at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT on IFC. The 2012 Spirit Award nominees will be announced in a press conference on Tuesday, November 29 at The London West Hollywood Hotel. Film Independent members and all past Spirit Award winners and nominees will be eligible to vote for this year’s winners.

“The Film Independent Spirit Awards honors filmmakers who create original stories and celebrates artists with fresh, authentic voices,” said Film Independent Senior Director Sean McManus. “With the continued support of our long-standing broadcaster, IFC, the Spirit Award nominees and their work will reach a national audience.”

“Film Independent is a champion for independent filmmakers and the Spirit Awards are always an exciting star-studded celebration of films essential to fueling our popular culture,” said Jennifer Caserta, executive vice president and general manager of IFC.  “We’re thrilled to again provide the exclusive premiere broadcast of the 2012 Spirit Awards.”

As the first event to exclusively honor independent film, the Film Independent Spirit Awards has made a name for itself as the premier awards show for the independent film community. Artists receiving industry recognition first at the Spirit Awards include Joel & Ethan Coen, Spike Lee, Oliver Stone, Ashley Judd, Robert Rodriguez, David O. Russell, Edward Burns, Aaron Eckhart, Neil LaBute, Darren Aronofsky, Spike Jonze, Charlie Kaufman, Hilary Swank, Marc Forster, Todd Field, Christopher Nolan, Zach Braff, Amy Adams, Lena Dunham and many more.

Last year’s host was comedian and actor Joel McHale, with major winners including Fox Searchlight’s Black Swan, which won Best Feature, Best Director, Best Female Lead, and Best Cinematography; Roadside Attractions’ Winter’s Bone, which won Best Supporting Female and Best Supporting Male; Focus Features’ The Kids Are All Right, which won Best Screenplay; Fox Searchlight’s 127 Hours, which won Best Male Lead; Weinstein Company’s The King’s Speech, which won Best Foreign Film; Sony Pictures Classic’s Get Low, which won Best First Feature; IFC Films’ Tiny Furniture, which won Best First Screenplay; Producers Distribution Agency’s Exit Through the Gift Shop, which won Best Documentary; and IFC Films’ Daddy Longlegs, which won the John Cassavetes Award.

In addition to celebrating the broad spectrum of independent filmmaking, the Spirit Awards is also the primary fundraiser for Film Independent’s year-round programs, which cultivate the careers of emerging filmmakers and promote diversity in the film industry. Tables and tickets to attend the Spirit Awards are first made available to Film Independent’s year-round supporters and Arts Circle members.  To inquire about tables or tickets, please contact the Development Department at 310.432.1253.



Now in its 27th year, the Film Independent Spirit Awards is an annual celebration honoring artist-driven films made with an economy of means by filmmakers who embody independence and originality. The Spirit Awards recognizes the achievements of American independent filmmakers and promotes the finest independent films of the year to a wider audience.

Awards are given in the following categories: Best Feature, Best First Feature, Best First Screenplay, Best Director, Best Screenplay, John Cassavetes Award (given to the best feature made for a budget under $500,000), Best Male Lead, Best Female Lead, Best Supporting Male, Best Supporting Female, Best Cinematography, Best International Film, Best Documentary, and the Robert Altman Award.  The Filmmaker Grants include the Someone to Watch Award, Truer Than Fiction Award and Piaget Producers Award.


Film Independent is a non-profit arts organization that champions independent film and supports a community of artists who embody diversity, innovation, and uniqueness of vision. Film Independent helps filmmakers make their movies, builds an audience for their projects, and works to diversify the film industry. Film Independent’s Board of Directors, filmmakers, staff, and constituents, is comprised of an inclusive community of individuals across ability, age, ethnicity, gender, race, and sexual orientation. Anyone passionate about film can become a member, whether you are a filmmaker, industry professional, or a film lover.

Film Independent produces the Spirit Awards, the annual celebration honoring artist-driven films and recognizing the finest achievements of American independent filmmakers.  Film Independent also produces the Los Angeles Film Festival, showcasing the best of American and international cinema and the Film Independent at LACMA Film Series, a year-round, weekly program that offers unique cinematic experiences for the Los Angeles creative community and the general public.

With over 250 annual screenings and events, Film Independent provides access to a network of like-minded artists who are driving creativity in the film industry. Film Independent’s Artist Development program offers free Labs for selected writers, directors, producers and documentary filmmakers and presents year-round networking opportunities. Project:Involve is Film Independent’s signature program dedicated to fostering the careers of talented filmmakers from communities traditionally underrepresented in the film industry.