Academy Award® Nominee Kristen Stewart to Serve as Honorary Chair of the 2022 Film Independent Spirit Awards

Press Contact: Seanna Hore, Ginsberg/Libby

Gladys Santos, Ginsberg/Libby


LOS ANGELES, CA (February 17, 2022) – Film Independent has named Academy Award® nominee Kristen Stewart as the Honorary Chair of the 2022 Spirit Awards. One of the most accomplished, talented and in-demand young actresses of her generation, Stewart has garnered over 22 critic awards for her portrayal of Princess Diana in Pablo Larrain’s Spencer.

“Independent film has been a formative and vital aspect of my life since I was a child. As an insider and an outsider it’s clear to me how the support it offers artists is essential. I couldn’t be more proud to serve as Honorary Chair this year and to help in celebrating all the nominees!” said Stewart.

“We are thrilled to have Kristen Stewart serve as our Honorary Chair this year. A true risk-taker, in all of her choices she embodies the fearlessness and bold originality that is at the heart of the Spirit Awards,” said Film Independent President Josh Welsh.

Stewart was introduced to worldwide audiences in 2002 with her gripping performance in Panic Room. Her star took a huge rise when she starred as Bella Swan in the hit franchise The Twilight Saga. In 2015, she became the first American actress to be awarded a Cesar Award in the Best Supporting Actress category for her role in Olivier Assayas’ Clouds of Sils Maria. In January 2017, Stewart made her directorial debut with Come Swim, which premiered at the 2017 Sundance Film Festival.

Next up, Stewart can be seen in David Cronenberg’s Crimes of the Future alongside Viggo Mortensen. Stewart recently completed production on a sci-fi love story film, opposite Steven Yeun. She is also co-writing and directing The Chronology of Water, based on the memoir of the same name by Lidia Yuknavitch.

Past Honorary Chairs include Shaka King, Lena Waithe, Ava DuVernay, Jessica Chastain, Ang Lee, David Oyelowo, Jodie Foster, Javier Bardem, Kerry Washington, Tom Cruise, Samuel L. Jackson, Nicole Kidman and Julianne Moore, among others.

The Spirit Awards are the nonprofit art organization’s primary fundraiser for its year-round slate of programs, which cultivate the careers of emerging filmmakers and promote diversity and inclusion across the film industry. The show will be executive produced and directed by Joel Gallen of Tenth Planet Production for the eighth consecutive year. Shawn Davis returns as executive producer for Film Independent for his 20th year, Rick Austin returns as Co-Executive Producer for his seventh year. Also returning are Danielle Federico and Andrew Schaff as Producers.

The Film Independent Spirit Awards are supported by Premier Sponsor IFC; the Official Spirit, Bulleit Frontier Whiskey; the Official Non-Alcoholic Spirit, Seedlip; Official Water, FIJI Water and Official Beer, Stella Artois. Getty Images is the Official Photographer.

Click here to see the full list of this year’s nominees.

To learn more about attending the Spirit Awards and supporting Film Independent’s mission and programs, contact Jennifer Murby at

To learn about sponsorship opportunities, please contact Stephanie Terifay at

To learn more about the Spirit Awards eligibility rules and regulations please visit

The winners of the Film Independent Spirit Awards are voted on by Film Independent Members. Membership is open to the public. For more information or to become a Member, visit


For over 40 years, Film Independent has helped filmmakers get their projects made and seen. The nonprofit organization’s core mission is to champion creative independence in visual storytelling and support a community of artists who embody diversity, innovation and uniqueness of vision.

In addition to producing the Film Independent Spirit Awards, the organization supports creative professionals with Artist Development programs, grants and labs. Signature mentorship program Project Involve fosters the careers of talented filmmakers from underrepresented communities. Weekly Education events and workshops equip filmmakers of all ages and experience levels with tools and resources. Global Media Makers, a cultural exchange program produced in partnership with the U.S. Department of State, provides career-building opportunities for international film professionals. And year-round screening series Film Independent Presents delivers monthly, unique cinematic experiences to Members in Los Angeles and beyond.


IFC is the home of offbeat, unexpected comedies. Acclaimed series Documentary Now!, Sherman’s Showcase, Baroness von Sketch Show and Portlandia air alongside fan-favorite movies and comedic cult TV shows. IFC is owned and operated by AMC Networks Inc., and available across multiple platforms. IFC is Always On, Slightly Off.


AMC+ is the company’s new premium streaming bundle featuring an extensive lineup of popular and critically acclaimed original programming from AMC, BBC America, IFC, and SundanceTV and full access to targeted streaming services Shudder, Sundance Now and IFC Films Unlimited, which feature content such as A Discovery of Witches, Creepshow and Boyhood. The service features a continually refreshed library of commercial-free content, including fan favorites Mad Men, Halt & Catch Fire, Turn: Washington’s Spies, Hell on Wheels, NOS4A2, Rectify, Orphan Black, Portlandia and series from The Walking Dead Universe, among many others. The service also offers a growing slate of original and exclusive series including Gangs of London, Kin, The North Water, Ragdoll, The Beast Must Die, Too Close, The Salisbury Poisonings, Cold Courage, Spy City, Ultra City Smiths, Anna, Anne Boleyn, Firebite and La Fortuna. AMC+ recently launched in Canada and Australia, and is available in the U.S. through, the AMC+ app, and a number of digital and cable partners.