Renowned Comedian and Actress Aidy Bryant to Host 2024 Film Independent Spirit Awards

Press Contact: Jason Berger, Film Independent

Gladys Santos, Ginsberg/Libby


39th Annual Awards Show to be held on February 25 in Santa Monica, CA

Nominations to be announced on December 5

LOS ANGELES (November 30, 2023) – Film Independent, the nonprofit organization dedicated to fostering independence and inclusivity in visual storytelling, announced this morning that beloved actress and comedian Aidy Bryant will bring her immense talent and craft to the 2024 Film Independent Spirit Awards as the show’s host. This 2024 Spirit Awards will mark the 39th edition of the annual awards show honoring the best of independent cinema and television, while also celebrating the 30th anniversary of Film Independent’s influential Artist Development program.

The awards nominees will be announced on December 5 at 7:00 am PT at, and broadcast on Film Independent’s YouTube channel. Winners will be revealed at the awards show on February 25 in Santa Monica and will be streamed live on the IMDb and Film Independent YouTube channels, and across other social platforms, beginning at 2:00 pm PT.

“We’re thrilled to have the incandescently talented Aidy Bryant joining us to host the 39th annual Spirit Awards,” said Josh Welsh, president of Film Independent. “Through her humor, skill and seemingly endless supply of energy she has been entertaining audiences for years, and we can’t wait to see what she has in store for us as we celebrate independent artists on February 25th.”

An acclaimed comedian and actress, Aidy Bryant got her start as a writer and performer with The Second City in Chicago before joining the cast of Saturday Night Live in 2012, where she starred for 10 seasons. During her time on SNL, Aidy was nominated for two Primetime Emmy Awards for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series and Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics. While still performing on the show, Bryant split her time to star in, co-create and showrun the Hulu series Shrill for three seasons. Aidy was nominated for her third Primetime Emmy Award for her performance in Shrill, this one for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series. Bryant recently signed an overall deal with Universal Television, where she is currently in development on multiple projects, including her new television vehicle, Lonely Hearts Club, which Ari Aster is producing for Peacock. Aidy also currently lends her voice as the lead character, “Emmy the Lovebug,” in Netflix’s animated series Human Resources.

Past Spirit Awards hosts include Hasan Minhaj, Megan Mullaly and Nick Offerman, Melissa Villaseñor, Aubrey Plaza, Nick Kroll and John Mulaney, Kate McKinnon and Kumail Nanjiani, Fred Armisen and Kristen Bell, Patton Oswalt, Andy Samberg, Rainn Wilson, Joel McHale, Sarah Silverman, Samuel L. Jackson, Queen Latifah and John Waters, just to name a few.

The Spirit Awards is the nonprofit arts organization’s primary fundraiser for its year-round slate of programs, which cultivate the careers of emerging filmmakers and promote diversity and inclusion across the film industry. The upcoming show will mark Film Independent’s second collaboration with Emmy Award-winning producer Eddie Delbridge of Live Digital Entertainment, an industry leader who has produced events such as Space Launch Live: America Returns to Space, The Critics’ Choice Awards, The MET Gala Live! and The Macy’s Parade 360 Live. Shawn Davis is returning for his 22nd year with the Spirit Awards, as executive producer. Also returning are producers Danielle Federico and Andrew Schaff.

The Film Independent Spirit Awards are supported by Principal Sponsor IMDb and Official Sponsors Bulleit Frontier Whiskey and FIJI Water. Hotel Casa del Mar is an Official Hotel. Getty Images is the Official Photographer. Vision Media is the exclusive screening partner.

To learn more about attending the Spirit Awards and supporting Film Independent’s mission and programs, please contact Jennifer Murby at

To learn about sponsorship opportunities, please contact Kate Walker D’Angelo at

To learn more about the Spirit Awards eligibility rules and regulations, please visit

The winners of the Film Independent Spirit Awards are voted on by Film Independent Members. Membership is open to the public. For more information or to become a member, visit

Press and publicist credential applications for the 2024 Film Independent Spirit Awards will open on December 5 at For any questions regarding credentials, please contact Jason Berger at


For over 40 years, Film Independent has helped filmmakers get their projects made and seen. The nonprofit organization’s core mission is to champion creative independence in visual storytelling in all its forms, and to foster a culture of inclusion. We support a global community of artists and audiences who embody diversity, innovation, curiosity and uniqueness of vision.

In addition to producing the Film Independent Spirit Awards, the organization supports creative professionals with Artist Development programs, grants and labs. Signature mentorship program Project Involve fosters the careers of talented filmmakers from underrepresented communities. Education events and workshops equip filmmakers of all ages and experience levels with tools and resources. Global Media Makers, a cultural exchange program produced in partnership with the U.S. Department of State, provides career-building opportunities for international film professionals. And year-round screening series Film Independent Presents offers a robust program of unique cinematic experiences, including screenings, conversations, Live Reads and Bring the Noise musical events.

For more information or to become a Member, visit