Spirit Awards Sun 1.12.2014

Congrats to Our Spirit Award Grant Winners

One thing we love about the Film Independent Spirit Awards is that by celebrating and rewarding outstanding work by little-known filmmakers, we can help keep them on the path toward doing more great and innovative work in the future.

Yesterday, we were happy to celebrate and reward four filmmakers with 2014 Spirit Awards grants. Toby Halbrooks and James M. Johnston received the $25,000 Piaget Producers Award, which honors emerging independent producers; Jason Osder, director of Let the Fire Burn, received the $25,000 Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award, which goes to an under-recognized documentarian; and Shaka King, director of Newlyweeds, received the Someone to Watch Award, given to a talented-but-overlooked filmmaker.

Spirit Awards Honorary Chairperson Angela Bassett and actors Emily Mortimer and Alessandro Nivola handed out the honors at our annual Spirit Awards Nominee Brunch at BOA Steakhouse in West Hollywood.

“Supporting emerging filmmakers is a cornerstone of our organization’s mission,” said Film Independent President Josh Welsh. “These grants help ensure that their independent creativity can shine on.”

By Pamela Miller / Website & Grants Manager