Programs Thu 3.12.2015

Get Ready, Austin! 16 Film Independent Fellows and 35 Members Are Screening at SXSW

Screen shot 2015-03-09 at 4.07.42 PM

The South By Southwest Film Festival gets underway tomorrow, and Film Independent Fellows and Members will be out in full force!  We are excited to announce that 16 Fellows and 35 Members will represent 31 films in Austin this week. (See the full list below.)

We’re especially proud that our Members and Fellows had a hand in half of the 10 films in this year’s competition slate. Four of our Fellows (Steve Bannatyne, J. Davis, Andrew Droz Palermo, and Ted Speaker) are in the Narrative Feature Competition.

Congrats to all of our filmmakers at SXSW! Be sure to check back in the coming days and weeks for more from Austin.

Narrative Feature Competition
Andrew Droz Palermo, Cinematographer, 6 Years
J. Davis, director/writer, Manson Family Vacation
Steve Bannatyne, producer, Manson Family Vacation
Ted Speaker, producer, Funny Bunny

Narrative Spotlight
Mynette Louie, executive producer, Fresno

Documentary Spotlight
Antonio Cisneros, cinematographer, Kingdom of Shadows

Andrew Droz Palmero Director, Co-Writer, One & Two

Mynette Louie, producer, The Invitation

Festival Favorites
Laura Gabbert, director, City of Gold
Errol Morris, executive producer, The Look of Silence
Andrew Bujalski, director, Results
Houston King, producer, Results
Matthias Grunsky, cinematographer, Results
Bill Ross, director, Western
Turner Ross, director, Western

Narrative Shorts
Maritte Go, producer, Guest Room
Ian Samuels, director, Myrna The Monster
Carly Hugo, executive producer, Share

Narrative Feature Competition
Sharon Lopez, co-producer. The Boy
Vinay Singh, producer, Funny Bunny
Patrick Wang, director/writer/producer, The Grief of Others
Matt Ratner, executive producer, Manson Family Vacation
Joseph Frank, director/co-writer/executive producer/producer, Sweaty Betty

Documentary Feature Competition
Ellen H Schwartz, executive producer, Breaking a Monster
Timothy Wheeler, director, Poached

Narrative Spotlight
Molly Christie Benson, producer, 7 Chinese Brothers
Alix Madigan, producer, The Automatic Hate
Geralyn White Dreyfous, executive producer, Fresno
Mynette Louie, executive producer, Fresno
Stephen Harrison, line producer, The Frontier
Chris Collins, executive producer, The Goob
Jack McWilliams, co-producer, I Dream Too Much
Lance Johnson, producer, Life in Color
Josh McDermitt, associate producer, Life in Color

Documentary Spotlight
Diane Weyermann, executive producer, Kingdom of Shadows
Britta Erickson, producer, Rolling Papers
Margaret Katcher, executive producer, Naz & Maalik
Matt Perniciaro, producer, One & Two

Karyn Kusama, director, The Invitation

24 Beats Per Second
Charlotte Larsen, executive producer, Gloria
Diane Becker, co-producer, JACO
David Byrnes, executive producer, Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck
Sheila Nevins, executive producer, Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck
Sara Bernstein, executive producer, Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck
Natalie Irby, associate producer, Landfill Harmonic

Festival Favorites
David Bernon, executive producer, Adult Beginners
Morgan Neville, director & producer, Best of Enemies
Julie Goldman, executive producer, Best of Enemies
Jamie Wolf, executive producer, City of Gold
Houston King, producer, Results

Narrative Shorts
Emily Best, executive producer, Guest Room
Maritte Go, producer, Guest Room
Carly Hugo, executive producer, Share

Tom Sveen / Film Independent Blogger