Spirit Awards Sat 2.8.2020

Here are the Winners of the 35th Film Independent Spirit Awards.

Now that everyone’s favorite awards show has (triumphantly) lurched across the finish line a deep, mollifying sigh may be released to commemorate the successful termination of yet another raucous awards season. After all, there are no more awards to be given; no more telecasts to be viewed or predictive ballots to be fussed over. Surely Hollywood will be quiet as a tomb tomorrow, now that the 35th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards have been given.

We kid, of course. But once more, we’d like to congratulate this year’s winners and nominees. And we hope that all of you watching will help us in supporting all of these incredible artists by continuing to watch their work for years to come. But enough of the touchy-feely stuff! You came here to see who took home cold, tangible hardware. Here now is a complete list of winners at the 35th Film Independent Spirit Awards on February 8 in Santa Monica…

BEST FEATURE – The Farewell (PRODUCERS: Anita Gou, Daniele Melia, Andrew Miano, Peter Saraf, Marc Turtletaub, Lulu Wang, Chris Weitz, Jane Zheng)

BEST DIRECTOR – Benny Safdie, Josh SafdieUncut Gems

BEST FEMALE LEAD Renée ZellwegerJudy

BEST MALE LEAD – Adam SandlerUncut Gems


BEST SUPPORTING MALE – Willem DafoeThe Lighthouse

BEST SCREENPLAY – Noah BaumbachMarriage Story

BEST EDITING – Ronald Bronstein, Benny Safdie, Uncut Gems

BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE – American Factory (DIRECTORS/PRODUCERS: Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert; PRODUCERS: Julie Parker Benello, Jeff Reichert)

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY  Jarin BlaschkeThe Lighthouse

BEST FIRST FEATURE  Booksmart (DIRECTOR: Olivia Wilde PRODUCERS: Chelsea Barnard, David Distenfeld, Jessica Elbaum, Megan Ellison, Katie Silberman)

BEST FIRST SCREENPLAY Fredrica Bailey, Stefon Bristol, See You Yesterday

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD – Give Me Liberty (DIRECTOR: Kirill Mikhanovsky WRITER/PRODUCER: Alice Austen PRODUCERS: Val Abel, Wally Hall, Michael Manasseri, George Rush, Sergey Shtern)

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – Marriage Story (DIRECTOR: Noah Baumbach; CASTING DIRECTORS: Douglas Aibel, Francine Maisler; ENSEMBLE CAST: Alan Alda, Laura Dern, Adam Driver, Julie Hagerty, Scarlett Johansson, Ray Liotta, Azhy Robertson, Merritt Wever)

BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM – Parasite, South Korea (DIRECTOR: Bong-Joon Ho)


SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – Rashaad Ernesto Green, Premature

TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – Nadia Shihab, Jaddoland

BONNIE AWARD  Kelly Reichardt

Check out highlights from this year’s show below:

Did you get stuck in beach traffic and miss the show entirely? Not to worry—you can catch some of our favorite moments above or on Film Independent’s YouTube channel, and stream the full broadcast in its entirety via the Film Independent Spirit Awards show page on Twitter.

As always, thank you for tuning in and hanging out. And stay tuned to this blog for additional Spirit Awards recaps and exclusive content throughout the week. Only Members vote for the winners of the Spirit Awards—so join now and decide who’ll be on this list in 2021. And yes, there are plenty of screeners!

The Film Independent Spirit Awards are sponsored by Premier Sponsors American Airlines, IFC and Mazda. Bulleit Frontier Whiskey is the Official Spirit. FIJI Water is the Official Water. JNSQ Wines is the Official Wine. Getty Images is the Official Photographer. Town & Country Event Rentals is the Exclusive Rental Company.

More Film Independent…