Tags: / /

Spirit Awards Fri 2.22.2019

Aubrey Plaza Wants You to Watch the 2019 Film Independent Spirit Awards TODAY!

After many long months of galaxy-brain prognostication and bleary-eyed screener-cramming, awards season finally comes careening to a halt this weekend as the 2019 Film Independent Spirit Awards drop on Saturday (plus one other thing on Sunday we can’t recall just now.)

Tomorrow host Aubrey Plaza will be onstage inside the big Spirit Awards tent on the beach in Santa Monica, waving her @evilhag wand to magically turn approximately one-fifth of our Spirit Award nominees into bona fide Spirit Award winners. And guess what? We’re here today to let you know the best way to keep up with this year’s festivities as they’re happening.

You don’t want to miss what Plaza may be cooking up or any of the delightfully awkward banter between our stellar lineup of 2019 Spirit Award presenters—including Taraji P. Henson, Tessa Thompson, Viggo Mortensen, Amanda Seyfried, Finn Wolfhard, Armie Hammer, Regina Hall, Sterling K. Brown, Elsie Fisher, Glenn Close and Kiki Layne, among others.

So! Can the once-and-future April Ludgate outdo two-time Spirit Awards hotshot hosts Nick Kroll and John Mulaney? The ever-confident Ms. Plaza certainly seems to think so, sitting down to chat with Film Independent’s own Cooper Hopkins to discuss her plans to crush the competition, in all its forms. Tune in to IFC at 5:00pm ET / 2:00pm PT to find out for yourself.

Let’s say you’re one of those spiritually elevated cord-cutters. For the second year in a row, Film Independent and IFC are partnering with Facebook to stream the entire show on Facebook Watch. The feed will air live simultaneously on IFC and the Film Independent Spirit Awards show page on Facebook Watch beginning at 5:00pm ET / 2:00pm PT.

Subscribe to our YouTube channel to watch and re-watch (and re-re-watch) acceptance speeches and other exclusive Spirit Awards clips, posting immediately after the they air live on TV. And please—don’t forget to like and share! Keep up with us on 2019’s juiciest apps for exclusive behind-the-scenes content, winner announcements and more: @filmindependent on TwitterInstagram and Facebook. Want to vote for next year’s winners? Become a Film Independent Member today and vote—just like Aubrey!

In the meantime, if you’d like to hear straight from the horse’s mouth what six of this year’s highest-profile nominees—Eighth Grade‘s Bo Burnham, Leave No Trace‘s Debra Granik, If Beale Street Could Talk‘s Barry Jenkins, Private Life‘s Tamara Jenkins, Sorry to Bother You‘s Boots Riley and First Reformed‘s Paul Schrader—have to say about the art, craft and overall craziness of independent filmmaking in the years 2018 and 2019, check out our full-length Spirit Awards roundtable from the 2019 Directors Close-Up series below:

So begin sketching out your cool-weather beachwear options and finish filling in those Spirit Award ballots. See you tomorrow.

To see who else is nominated at this year’s 34th Film Independent Spirit Awards click here. The 2019 Film Independent Sprit Awards will be held Saturday, February 23 back on the beach in Santa Monica and broadcast live EXCLUSIVELY on IFC at 5:00pm ET / 2:00pm PT.

The 2019 Spirit Awards is sponsored by Premier Sponsors American Airlines, AT&T, IFC and Subaru of America, Inc. Rocket Mortgage® by Quicken Loans® is the Official Sponsor of the Voting Process. FIJI Water is the Official Water. Hangar One Vodka and Maestro Dobel Tequila are the Official Spirits. JNSQ Wines is the Official Wine. Getty Images is the Official Photographer. Town & Country Event Rentals is the Exclusive Rental Company.

Tags: / /