Film Independent Sun 3.2.2014

Ten Film Independent Members Are Nominated for Oscars—Wish Them Luck!

Now that the Film Independent Spirit Awards are behind us (phew), we can kick back, relax and enjoy all the fabulousness of the Oscars. This year, while we’re critiquing outfits, parsing acceptance speeches and hoping for Ellen to twerk, we’ll also have our fingers crossed for the ten Film Independent Members who are nominated for Academy Awards this year. Here’s the list so you can too.

oscar class_9 members

Albert Berger: Best Picture, (Nebraska)
Dede Gardner: Best Picture (12 Years a Slave)
Spike Jonze: Best Picture, Original Song, Original Screenplay (Her)
Vincent Landay: Best Picture (Her)
Joey McFarland: Best Picture (The Wolf of Wall Street)
Steve McQueen: Best Picture, Best Director (12 Years a Slave)
Morgan Neville: Best Documentary Feature (20 Feet from Stardom)
Caitrin Rogers: Best Documentary Feature (20 Feet from Stardom)
Kim Magnusson: Best Live Action Short Film (Helium)
Ron Yerxa: Best Picture (Nebraska)

Pamela Miller / Website & Grants Manager